Silent Night

33586_zoom_a

matchbox-silentnight-03

My house is still covered in icicles; yet another opportune day to stay warm and let the spirit of Christmas sink into my soul.  That was rather poetic, was it not?!  Moving on.  My title is not only a reference to a timeless Christmas song but also my December 7th favorite:

What is your favorite Christmas memento?  Years ago, a small, blue matchbox music box caught my eye while I was shopping.  The top had a picture of shepherds, and when the inner box was pulled out, three wisemen spin around the nativity scene while “Silent Night” plays; if the box was pulled out the opposite way, a wind-up key could be found underneath.  I was enchanted by the small music box, but instead of buying it right then and there, I walked away.  I was not convinced that my decision was the right one, but I still walked away empty-handed.  I could not stop thinking about the music box; I even dreamed about it.  Finally, my mom convinced me that if I wanted it that much, it was worth a 30 minute drive.  I cannot remember exactly how much time passed, but I did finally get my music box, a music box that is my favorite Christmas memento.  You don’t have to do an extensive internet search to find a picture; just look directly above the first few sentences of this blog post.  Isn’t it charming?  Look up “matchbox music box” on Google, and you too can own one.

You probably noticed that my post has not one but two images.  I cannot bring up my favorite Christmas memento without mentioning that I also have a fascination with snow globes.  There is something very relaxing about staring at snow swirling around a scene while music plays.  The Christmas story is one of my favorite Bible stories, and I have wanted a nativity snow globe for quite some time.  My mom was kind enough to find and purchase one for me.  The picture at the beginning of this post is not the snow globe I won, but it is similar.  When I feel my Christmas spirit fading, I listen to my music box and stare into my snow globe.

I apologize if the sappiness and sentimentality is overwhelming; I will stop now before I cause anymore damage.

Stay merry readers!

– Lauren Michele  :)

“Silent night, Holy night
All is calm, all is bright
Round young virgin , mother and child
Holy infant so, tender and mild
Sleep in heavenly peace,
Sleep in heavenly peace!”

Leave a Reply

