#GoGoldOrGoHome

Skalij, Wally. Gold medal winner Gabby Douglas competes on the beam in the women's individual all-around event. 2012. Photograph.

Skalij, Wally. Gold medal winner Gabby Douglas competes on the beam in the women’s individual all-around event. 2012. Photograph.

I watched The Gabby Douglas Story on Lifetime earlier this week and was really inspired.  Gabby had to push through one obstacle after another to fulfill her goal of competing in the Olympics.  According to the movie, being away from her mom and siblings on top of intense training created emotional stress that, for a period of time, drained her passion.  Her family and her coach talked to her, but she was the one who had to make the final decision.  She decided to keep going and went on to become the first United States gymnast to win an Olympic gold medal in both the all-around individual and the all-around team events.  She was also the first African-American female gymnast to win an Olympic gold medal in the all-around individual event.

Though our stories are different, I am reminded of my current situation living away from my dad and brother and attending college.  I feel like photography is no longer my passion, but I am determined to finish what I started to the best of my abilities.  Even if I do not want to become a world-famous photographer, I do want to feel satisfied that I pushed myself outside of my comfort zone and succeeded.  I miss having my family together in one place, but I want to make them proud and show them that the past two years of struggle have not been in vain.  Because of them, I cannot justify being selfish, though I do admit that I do slip-up here and there.

Check your local TV listings for The Gabby Douglas Story or watch it here: http://www.mylifetime.com/movies/the-gabby-douglas-story/video/the-gabby-douglas-story

“Hard days are the best because that’s where champions are made…”  – Gabby Douglas

Go for the gold readers!

– Lauren Michele  :)

P.S. Please check out the new Lauren Michele Youtube channel and subscribe: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCic1VLw_OuW2fzDQ88oi_AA/videos

Leave a Reply

